In Review: Lentil as Anything

Posted on February 16, 2010. Filed under: $$: Pay what you think, Food Spot, In Review:, Strongly Suggested |

Am I happy to finally be posting my first “In Review” location and strongly suggested place of interest.

For those who have not yet been along to Lentil as Anything (or as most Melburnian’s nick name this fine establishment, “Lentils”)

About:

Lentil as Anything: The Old Convent, Abbotsford

Lentil as Anything opened it’s first set of doors in 2000, as a vegetarian food spot where Melburnian’s could take time away from the run and busyness of the city, soak in a friendly atmosphere around amazing & relaxed people while enjoying a delicious and healthy vegetarian meal. To my understanding, Lentils has always worked on the basis, you pay what you can afford. While they do ask each visitor to be generous with donations (which gets placed in the “Magic Box”) – A wood box, located at the counter, without being judged. This is to cater as an honesty system, also helping those who are going through financial hardship. Believe you me, we have or we all will one day be in a position we do not expect to be in. In the past, Lentils has not only helped me, but no doubt SO Many other people in times of crisis. It is a re-assuring feeling, if times are bad – you are still able to get a healthy meal.

On the opposite side though, when times have come good – I do put in more than my share (through the donation box), and now venturing into the life of a student, will make time to offer my services as a volunteer. Yes. Lentils welcome anyone who is able to do the slightest bit in helping. I will mention now, being a long running patron to Lentils (at their Abbotsford and St Kilda locations) the type of crowd this amazing food spot attracts is: Friendly. Confident (on the sense, no one is afraid to say ‘hello’ to a new face/stranger) – Lentils welcomes all walks of life, regardless of race, sexuality or community.

You will find the staff are more than friendly and willing to help. It is for this reason, I still go there to this day. I tell all my friends (with pride) about this amazing spot. I even, one year hosted my birthday lunch at their Abbotsford location. Because of that one lunch, my friends now have fond memories of Lentils, and I know they would have made mention to their friends.

Anyways! So… Lentils, is very much a place that operates on community spirit and in put. They are always out supporting many local projects (the list is quite diverse) and what I admire, educating people the many different ways you can eat healthy.

Lentils, now in it’s ten years of operation has four! Locations.

ABBOTSFORD: In the grounds of (the old) Abbotsford Convent (1 St. Heliers St, Abbotsford), this is the largest of all of the Lentil restaurants; The surrounding beauty to the convent grounds is truly amazing and also breath taking. (see following picture)

The old Abbotsford Convent

ST KILDA: 41 Blessington Street St Kilda, Vic

They do say that amazing thing’s can come in small packages – This is a brilliant example. While St Kilda strikes me as the smallest of Lentil locations, the vibe is still of an amazing one. The staff, are more than likely all locals, and welcome many a face each day. The St Kilda location does operate differently (re: different menu selections/operations) so be excited to experience Lentils on a new level.

(See here for photo of this location and information on all Lentil locations)

Other locations are the Collingwood college canteen (not open to public) and the newest of locations in
Footscray: 233 Barkly Street, Footscray VIC

My fave: The Abbotsford location: Why? Because I love the visual landscape around the restaurant and while I eat I do see a couple of friends either working (in apart with the lentils team) or I do put my hand up in saying hello to faces I haven’ yet met.

The Abbotsford restaurant has also taken on the operations as daily buffets (with a VERY Large selection in vegie foods to select from) plus as I will call it, when you (after eating) experience what a “Lentils tummy” feels like (just from the name, not based on if you actually ate lentils or not) you may want to go on a very Scenic walk along  Collingwood’s, Meri Creek – The path almost feels, Endless – but me, having a strong passion for walking – why would that scare me? -> See photo of the Meri Creek walking path

Photo taken from file: The Meri Creek walking path

Photo from file: Meri Creek walking path (2nd shot)

What’s on offer:

My Lentils selection from Dinner 16/02

Amazing food, from Breakfast – Lunch & Dinner, Hot beverages (everything from Hot Coffee’s to cool Ice chocolates/Juices and TONNES of water – Even home made cakes and depending on which location you go to, scrumptious deserts. Some locations (Abbotsford being a main host) also offer’s day’s or evenings of live music from African beat to Salsa! Lentils is more than just a restaurant – but very much a an active, thriving community!

You can get more information on this amazing network, by clicking -> here <- to see their website OR -> here <- for the Lentil as anything community blog.

Upcoming events:  At lentil as anything Abbotsford, Saturday February 20, 2010 – global celebration in great music, food, dance & lovely people. (More info to be posted soon!)

How to get there: (advise per metlinkmelbourne.com)

Take the Route 48 tram towards North Balwyn
Get off at stop 32-Kew Junction/High St (Kew)
From Stop 32-Kew Junction/High St (Kew)
Walk
To Kew Junction/Studley Park Rd (Kew)
Take the Route 201 bus towards City (Lonsdale Street)
or take the Route 207 bus towards City (Lonsdale St)
Get off at stop Clarke St/Johnston St (Abbotsford)
Walk about 310 metres
To 1 St Heliers St (Abbotsford)

Do try! All locations are family friendly, and will guarantee each person will leave with a full stomach!

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

One Response to “In Review: Lentil as Anything”

RSS Feed for The Melbourne Explorer Comments RSS Feed

Great review!!! I wish I could go to the Convent, but being in Sydney it is a bit difficult. I have been to the St. Kilda restaurant and loved it.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...